Running IFL on UEFI without a Boot Disk

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Mr.X, Oct 2, 2016.

  1. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,788
    Location:
    .
    @Brian K
    Could you please elaborate your method lil bit more? All prerequisites needed and all steps to successfully understand it. In other words, elaborate for non-experts like me. :)

    @MudCrab
    You are welcome to share your thoughts and expertise if you wish too.

    Thank you guys, you're the best.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,111
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Mister X,

    First, the UFD.

    double click makedisk.exe, next
    Traditional- You have control over options. (Custom), next
    dot in I accept the agreement, next
    Global Geometry----tick in Align Partitions on 1MiB Boundaries, next
    Miscellaneous Global Options, no selections, next
    Additional ifl.ini Options, no additions at present, next
    Product Key if V2, Name and Product Key if V3, next
    Leave Boot Drive Mounted as /tbu/boot, next
    Run List-Run Scripts Listed in scriptslist.txt, next
    BIBM Licensed Name, Product Key (leave blank if you don't own BIBM)
    When using a UFD I choose
    USB Layout... Partition - FAT/FAT32 partition
    Geometry Calculation Method... Use Device
    Finish

    Boot the IFL UFD
    IFL
    Run through the Restore screens as if you were restoring an already saved image
    On the Options screen select...
    Reboot when Completed
    Log Results to File

    Click Show Command
    Save to File
    In the Save As window insert --uy to make the script automated. Put it after --r as below
    --r --uy --d:
    OK
    In the next Save As window...
    double click boot
    double click scripts
    In the name field give the script a good name and add a .tbs extension (remember the .tbs extension)
    OK
    Exit

    Click IFL in the dock and make further .tbs scripts
    Do the above as many times as you like for different restores (eg Reboot or Shutdown, etc)
    Do the above as many times as you like for different backups (eg Reboot or Shutdown, etc)

    When back in Windows, look in the UFD "scripts" folder. You will see the .tbs scripts you have created. Right click a typical script, Open with, Notepad. Can you copy/paste the text into your next post?


    Where do you plan to have the IFL HD partition? First or subsequent HD? If you have more than one HD I'd suggest a subsequent HD as the IFL partition won't be included in the OS Entire Drive image. Do you have at least 100 MB of Free Space on the chosen HD and not more than 3 primary partitions on that subsequent HD at present? The number of partitions doesn't matter if you plan to use the GPT disk.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2016
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,111
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Attention Macrium Reflect users. This method works for you too. You can copy a Macrium Reflect UFD to the HD and boot from the partition.

    I haven't tested but it probably works for all WinPE on a UFD.
     
  4. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,788
    Location:
    .
    @Brian K

    Many thanks for the directions. I'll be honest, I just did IFL UFD so far, LOL
    Going to be busy for this week on a new family project so perhaps next week? Really don't know for sure.
    Anyway as soon as I test this method I'll feedback to you.
     
  5. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,788
    Location:
    .
    First HDD. See I pretend to use this solution on just one HDD or SSD, on laptops or desktops UEFI mode.
    That said may I ask if your previous instructions remain the same?
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,111
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  7. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,788
    Location:
    .
    Backup.tbs
    Code:
    sub main()
      exec("/tbu/imagel --b --uy --d:l0@0x1,0x2,0x3,0x4 --f:l0@0x6:^"/win10^" --v --rb:4", 1)
    end sub
    

    Restore.tbs

    Code:
    sub main()
      exec("/tbu/imagel --r --uy --d:l0 --f:l0@0x6:^"/win10^" --sp:0x1,0x2,0x3,0x4 --rb:4", 1)
    end sub
     
  8. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,788
    Location:
    .
    Sorry for the delay. I'm doing this stuff in my personal desktop as I don't have any spare computer for the moment.

    You assume right. Setups will vary from Windows 7 to Windows 8.1/10 as the latters add a hidden uefi stuff small partition, you know.
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,111
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Just an observation about your partitions. Do you have a Recovery Partition? I have...

    Recovery
    EFI System
    MSR
    Win10

    Standby, I'm assessing your tbs scripts.
     
  10. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,788
    Location:
    .
    Yes, the first one: 0x1
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,111
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    The scripts look fine.

    For testing purposes can you create a Validate script for the Recovery partition. That way you can test without restoring anything.
     
  12. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,788
    Location:
    .
    Okay just give me some more time to do it please.
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,111
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    After you have the Validate script, create 100 MB of Free Space on your HD and use IFW to copy the UFD partition to the space. Then use Disk Manager to remove the IFL drive letter.

    Now install EasyUEFI, do two restarts and let me know what you see in the EasyUEFI Boot order.

    Edit... confirm your scriptslist.txt (in the scripts folder) is empty.
     
  14. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,788
    Location:
    .
    Validate Recovery partition
    Code:
    sub main()
      exec("/tbu/imagel --v --f:l0@0x6:^"/win10^" --sp:0x1", 1)
    end sub
    
    Empty it is.

    Awaiting your reply on this...
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,111
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Looks great. What is the name for that tbs? I'll need it later.
     
  16. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,788
    Location:
    .
    Validate Recovery partition.tbs
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,111
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Fine.
     
  18. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,788
    Location:
    .
    Do you think is a good idea to create it after hidden "IMAGE" partition (0x6)?
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,111
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Sure. Where ever you like on that drive. But after the IMAGE partition would be my first choice too.
     
  20. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,788
    Location:
    .
    Okay, hang on please. My HDD is a lil damaged LOL
    Need to fix filesystem in order to resize and free space...
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,111
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Yes, I get that occasionally too.
     
  22. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,788
    Location:
    .
    Unfortunately HDDs are quite unreliable, well "cheap" or regular priced disks. If I want quality I need to purchase expensive drives, :isay:
     
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,111
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    chkdsk /f usually fixes the resize issue.
     
  24. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,788
    Location:
    .
    Something went wrong but I better deleted IMAGE partition and re-created it then did a 131MB "IFL" partition for the purpose. Hope this helps cause it was taking too long for chkdsk.

    Now proceeding to install IFW...
     
  25. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,111
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    You don't have to install IFW if you don't want to. You can copy from IFL.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.