Restoring image to new (larger) HDD - same system

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by alto-pete, Jan 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alto-pete

alto-pete Registered Member

Hi all - I've read through various threads to get an answer to this question but still have doubts - it's a simple enough question but I'm not a techie & I want to be sure........

Let's say I've created a (TI9) bootable CD and a full image backup onto a USB drive and my main drive fails (or I simply want to set up my system on a larger HDD). If I remove the old HDD and reinsert a brand new HDD in the (laptop) PC is the restore as simple as booting from the CD and running restore on the image file (I assume the CD will enable the USB drive to be seen) or do I have to do something complicated with the HDD before attempting the restore??

Thanks everyone!

Peter

2. Xpilot

Xpilot Registered Member

Recovery from a HDD failure really is that easy. Upgrading to a bigger drive can be done the same way and it is an excellent test that your disaster recovery actually works. However you will have some extra space unused on the new drive. This can be brought into use by several different methods. I would choose a partition management program.
    The recommended Acronis way to upgrade to a bigger Hdd would be to use the clone process during which you could enlarge your partitions to fill the new Hdd.

Xpilot

3. alto-pete

alto-pete Registered Member

Thanks for youir help xpilot!

4. bobdat

bobdat Registered Member

There is a better way.....

Doing what you outline will result in the new larger drive having the exact same size partition structure as the image from the old smaller drive.

What you really should do is to use TI's disk clone feature to automatically upsize your entire smaller drive's partition structure to the new larger drive.