Restore problem: Drive(C)?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Sagres, Sep 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sagres

Sagres Registered Member

I'm a newbie with TI (just purchased yesterday) hoping for a couple answers. I did a selective restore (Windows folder) from a full backup. However, the folder was restored as C:\Drive(C)\Windows

Why? What did I do wrong?

Lastly, how do I delete this C:\Drive(C)\Windows directory? Can't do it within Windows - gives errors about unable to delete files etc. Tried using the file manager included with BartPE and I get the same error messages. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

2. dld

dld Registered Member

If in creating your backup image you ticked off the box next to Disk 1, your best bet now is to restore by again ticking off the box next to Disk 1. In doing so you will be restoring your OS (Windows) as well as the MBR and overwriting whatever is presently on your C: drive.

3. Sagres

Sagres Registered Member

When you perform a full backup there is no option but to select disk/drive1 and C: simultaneously. In other words: you can't check/un-check disk/drive1 without c:\ being checked/unchecked. However, this may work while restoring. Thank you for the advice.

Any advice on how to delete the directory?

4. dld

dld Registered Member

I agree with you that in creating a backup ticking Disk 1 automatically ticks off the C: drive. This is so if you have but one partition on your HD. Not so if you have additional partitions. In any case, Disk 1 having been ticked off in the backup, do the same in restore, ticking off Disk 1.

When you restore your system everything will be wiped off your disk, provided Disk 1 has been ticked off in the restoration processs.

5. Christopher_NC

Christopher_NC Registered Member