Restore Boot Partition via External Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Dopey Duke, Jul 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dopey Duke

Dopey Duke Registered Member

I am a newbie to this so please be patient if I ask a silly question. I have an initial image of my entire hard drive plus one incremental image. Because of the size I stored them on an external hard drive that uses either an IEEE-1394 or USB data connection. Earlier I extracted/restored a couple of specific files from the drive but now I have a bigger problem.

I need to restore my entire C: partition on the hard drive. Because that is the boot drive partition Acronis quits Windows 2000 and restarts in a mode where no apps are running. My problem is that the external hard drive is not seen by the OS when Acronis reboots it. Only internal hard drives are shown this mode.

Does anyone have a suggestion on how to get the external drive to be recognized. It's a 320 GB Western Digital drive (USB 2/Firewire) and I'm using Acronis 8.

TIA
    Cec Britton

2. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello Dopey Duke,

Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

First of all, please make sure that you use the latest build (903) of Acronis True Image 8.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

If the problem still persists after installing the update then please create special Bootable Rescue CD using Acronis True Image 8.0 build 903, boot your PC from this CD and add quiet acpi=off noapic parameters to the Linux kernel settings as it is described in Acronis Help Post.