Recovering a full MyBackup tib file that was removed accidentally

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Dalicon, Jun 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dalicon

Dalicon Registered Member

Hello I am a noob to acronis,
    I accidentally removed the full MyBackup Tib file yesterday in the morning. I would like to recover this file to see if a certain large folder of 80 gigs can be restored to evaluate missing files after a complete backup. When reviewing the directories after the deletion i notice that there was approximately thirty gigs of missing information on the current hard drive. If anyone can give me an insight as to what the following actions can be done to recover the remove MyBackUp Tib files on external USB hard drive. It would much appreciated to resolved this headache.

2. bodgy

bodgy Registered Member

First - do NOT perform any defrag's for the moment.

Second - try not to install or delete any programs.

Third - don't alter the placement/size of the page file or hibernation file (if activated).

Did you delete the file and it is now living in the rubbish bin or did you really delete the file from the disk?

If the second option you'll need to hunt down software that'll undelete files. If you already have a disk editing program or undelete software then these will restore your file.

If your disk is formatted as FAT32 then in the disk editing program find the FAT table and locate your file which will have the following entry ~yBackupTib, manually replace the ~ with an M the file will be back for your use, minus any parts that have already been overwritten. With an NTFS partition you will need to use undelete software as NTFS marks files as deleted in a different way.

Unfortunately Acronis Disk Director won't be of any help in this regard.

3. shieber

shieber Registered Member