recover without a boot disc?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Xepheros, Jan 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Xepheros

Xepheros Registered Member

hey Im new to Partition Recovery but this is what i would like to do let me know if its possible. backup C: to a image on a hidden partition. then when the time comes and i need it it lets me boot to a menu to restore and not have to use the disc anyway to do this?

2. thomasjk

thomasjk Registered Member

No way that I know of. What software will you use to see the hidden partition? If you use the TI Secure Zone that is a hidden partition but you still need a boot disk.

3. foghorne

foghorne Registered Member

There are a number of problems with this approach. One of which is the fact that you are trying to put every single one of your eggs in the same basket. When your harddisk goes bang you might have a problem.

If you are serious about DR I recommend you not only store your images away from your source disk (like on a second hard disk or/and off site) but have at least one alternative means of booting to recovery (e.g. flash disk, ATI Recovery CD, Bart PE, etc).

F.

4. acro

acro Registered Member

Not sure how useful this will be but I use True Image v 8.0.0.800 and do something similar to what I think you are trying to achieve.

TI is installed on the HD in the normal way and I never use the Disk thereafter.

I re-boot and press F11 on start up.
    This allows me to restore an image from a separate partition on the same HD or from an external USB HD. I've never had an Image fail to verify let alone restore and I've restored dozens if not hundreds. I've restored at least 10 in the last couple of days.
    Creating the Secure Zone for this to work does overwrite the MBR which could be a problem for some,
    Creating an Image is done from within Windows of course.