Recommended Backup software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by chattycathy, Apr 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chattycathy

chattycathy Registered Member

Hi! I've been using Acronis True Image for several years but now I've gotten fed up with it. I have an external USB WD MyBook drive that I use for backups which I've only had a few months. Acronis True Image ver. 10 boot cd will not recognize it. I refuse to purchase another version of this software. I'm tired of it!!!!! I have tried building the Bart Pe Disk and it doesn't recognize it either but if Windows is working, Acronis sees it then. I am tired of fooling with this mess. Is there any backup software out there that will work with my external drive? What good is a backup if you can't use it when you need it? All suggestions are welcome.

2. RAD

RAD Registered Member

3. The Hammer

The Hammer Registered Member

4. chattycathy

RAD, I read the threads you suggested. Did you finally get the Paragon boot cd to recognize your My Book external drive? From everything I've been reading about this program, there were people having the same problem with their USB external drives as I've been having with Acronis. That is my fear. I don't want to purchase another program and then find out it doesn't work any better than the piece of junk that Acronis is. And, from everything I've read, it sounds like the trial version does not support external USB drives when you try to make a boot cd from it. I have read some threads about people trying the trial version and had made the boot cd using it but when they tried it and booted with it, their usb external drive would not show up. This makes me feel like "why bother if I'm not going to be any better off". I don't want to pay out money for nothing. Thanks for your help!

5. RAD

RAD Registered Member

As posted in the parallel thread, did a reboot last night to verify that the Paragon Recovery CD DOES SEE MY USB DRIVE.