Read error while backing up good drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Secure1, Jul 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Secure1

Secure1 Registered Member

I have an Ubuntu Linux machine that I'm trying to back up with the TrueImage build 3567 boot disc.

When partitions are checked TI displays error "Failed to read from the sector 76,180,230 of the hard disk 1" (and many subsequent sectors).

(If I ignore the error) During the backup "E000101F4 Failed to read data from the sector 72,254,357" (and many subsequent sectors).

Ubuntu seems to run great, no errors, even when disks are checked (every 30 boots). Partitions are ext3. Any idea how I can get the backup to work?

2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

I know less than zero about Ubuntu but are there switches that can be used with the disk checking utility that causes a more in-depth check than what is happening now?

3. Secure1

I'm afraid I'm a Linux newb... I ran fsck, but don't know the switches and can't understand the man page on fsck. I'm running Western Digital Diagnostics now, booted from Ultimate Boot CD for Windows.

Interesting tidbit, WD Diags lists the sectors as 1-72,037,361. That's a lower number than the sectors that TI errors on... ?

4. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

What does the BIOS see the drive size as? Does multiplying any of the max sector numbers by 512 come close (I'm not sure how close they should be)?
    How does any of this compare with the advertised (size stated on the box) drive size?

5. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello Secure1,

Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

We are very sorry for the delay with the response.

First of all, please download and install the latest build (3677) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home which is available in the Product Updates section of your account at Acronis web site.