Question on Restoring files

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jmckeown, Mar 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmckeown

jmckeown Registered Member

I am totally new to this . I backed up my hard drive during the trial seesion and now I have purchased the software. I was tring to restore a file from the backup but the NEXT button will not highlight. I am not using a password and it does not ask for one. Can I do this....cause I hope so. Please straighten me out on this.

2. jmckeown

Ok no answers.. try this... Can I recover files from my complete back-up. If so..how?. I went to "Pick a TasK'/ Recovery/ Clicked on the file needed but the NEXT button would not highlight. Need some direction here!!!!!

3. TheWeaz

TheWeaz Registered Member

If you did a disk or partition B/U, mount/plug/explore (whatever it’s called now) the image and get your file.
    If it was a File/Folder backup, I don’t know – never used it.

4. jmckeown

I did a full backup. Now I want to recover a certain file. How do I do this.

5. TheWeaz

I just told you, plug the image.

6. DavidNW

DavidNW Registered Member

Hello, everyone.

I'm trying out Acronis True Image 8.0 on a 15 day trial option. I created an archive image file of my entire Hard Drive (including XP Home Edition).

Upon restoration; will XP ask me to type in my COA key, and if I do that, should I reasonably expect to fully restore everything into working order in the event of a PC crash? I'm completely new to PC restoration - so, apologies if that sounds a dumb question.

I have verified the contents of my backup image files, that I have placed on a RW DVD, and it has passed the check test.

The thing that puzzles me, however, is that 2 image archive files have been created - Backup1 & Backup 2 - can't figure out why this should be, as I only created one file - the archive for the entire Hard drive!