PXE Noob

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by Caesar, Apr 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Caesar

Caesar Registered Member

Ok, I am new to PXE, but from everything I understand it is pretty straight foward.

(before I go on, I would like to grumble to the admins of this forum...how on earth can you have a product with a three letter word "PXE" and not allow people to search on it o_O, search word must be at least 4 letters long )...ok grumble over.

I am just simply trying out the acronis product and hoping to get some success, but my trial is just about over and have yet to get a machine to boot off of the acronis PXE server. The machines support PXE, and are set to boot from it first. I have a DHCP server setup and it hands out addresses just fine. Yes, the machine is attached to the network and communicating just fine. If I toss a drive with an image on it, it works just ducky.

I have tried installing the PXE server both on a test machine for deployment and the DHCP server itself. I have installed the deploy agent and image creator into the PXE server.

As I understand it, you need #1 a DHCP server to hand out addresses, #2 the Acronis PXE server installed and loaded and have the snap deploy agent and image creator loaded into it. #3 have teh client machine setup to boot on the nic with PXE as its first boot attempt.

What have I missed. Please help me, as I have many machines to duplicate and I am just trying to find a product that works and can do the job well.

Any help is appreciated.

The Mobos are ASUS P5B.

C

2. Caesar

Caesar Registered Member

no help? i could really use some

3. snapdragin

snapdragin Registered Member

Hi Caesar, welcome to Wilders.

I can't help you with your PXE question, I'll leave that to the Acronis Moderators or one of our knowledgeable members. However, I can offer you a workaround for searching on a 3 character word with using Google.