Pup Funmoods

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by WilliamP, Aug 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

WilliamP Registered Member

I have the latest Sandboxie and Avira. This morning I was some where on the web where I shouldn't have been. I have SB set to empty the sandbox when I close the browser. When I closed FF I noticed that my taskbar icon for Avira had moved. So I ran Superantispyware and it found Pup Funmoods toolbar. Then I ran Malwarebytes and it found a whole bunch of trash. I have run several scans and I believe I have cleaned it all out. It has really caused me to question the effectivity of SB. How was this stuff able to get to my systemo_O

2. bo elam

bo elam Registered Member

After searching Google for a little while, I found that people get Funmood either bundled with other software that gets installed in the computer or someone gets an installer and installs it. I am no expert on any of this but I don't think you get Funmood browsing. According to what I read is an addon for social networks like Facebook.

Good luck

Bo

3. WilliamP

I didn't download anything that I know of.

4. Montmorency

Montmorency Registered Member

I can assure you something like this would never come out of Sandboxie.
    You made some mistake.

5. WilliamP

I know that you are correct but I don't how. I never came out of FF ,so I never left the sandbox. And I didn't download anything.

6. bo elam

bo elam Registered Member

Look around your system, you ll find folders or files in Program files, AppData, Document and settings, related to Funmoods. Theres got to be some, somewhere. When you locate it, look at the date and you ll see that Funmoods was installed before the browsing session that you think is when you got the PUP.

Bo

7. WilliamP