Proxying Proxomitron

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Checkout, Mar 26, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Weird.  Proxomitron is capable of using an external proxy, but how?  I've tried to set it up to use an anonymising service (a subscription-based service, with username and password) but all that does is to give the wrong username and password to my ISP!

    • I copied SSLEAY.DLL and LIBEAY32.DLL to \windows\system32.
    • I set the HTTPS proxy in IE 6 to localhost:8080
    • I added the external proxy's id to Proxo, and used a right-click to add my usernae and password for the proxy

    What am I doing wrong, apart from thinking?  :)
     
  2. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Addendum:

    I tried again this morning, and I'm able to connect to my ISP successfully.  (Maybe it was too late last night for my brain cells.)  However, when I test the external proxy (IDzap) it says "Failed to connect to proxy".  I am testing member.idzap.com:8080

    Inspiration is welcomed!
     
  3. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Whoa!  Think I've fixed it!  I changed the port from 8080 (which proxo automatically filled in) to 80!
     
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Nice going  :D

    regards.

    paul
     
  5. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Hmmm...not so sure.  I don't think Proxo is initiating an SSL session, which is what I'm really after.  Perhaps Zhen-Xjell can be roped into this...  :(
     
  6. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Forgot to set 'Use remote proxy' - duh!

    Well, something's happening.  I finally read the read me file and set up 'half-SSL' in Proxo.

    Trouble is, I'm getting rejected by Hotmail...  :)

    Oh, well, something's happening!
     
  7. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Using IE - Getting lots of HTTP 400 (bad request) messages...but, curiously, I'm getting through to some sites, such as BBC.CO.UK.

    Wow.

    Using OE - "Server Response 'Host Not Found', Port: 0. Secure[SSL]: No. Error Number: 0x800CCC31" from Hotmail.

    Un-wow.

    Any ideas, folks?

    Oh, I should add that OE is set to visit a few POP3 mailboxes of mine, and they work!  One slight annoyance with Proxo - I have to specify the proxy's name, it won't let me specify its IP address directly.  I was hoping to bypass Proxo's frequent HTTP 400 message trying to connect to the proxy.  I hope this stuff is of interest to people here!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.