Proxomitron Newbie

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by puff-m-d, Mar 20, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello all,

    I have heard a lot of good things about Proxomitron (some of which was on this forum) and have decided to try it out.  It appears, to me, that the learning curve for Proxomitron is a little steep, so I have decided to ask for a little help.

    If anyone has any advice on configuring or using it, it would be very much appreciated as I learn this software.  Some of you experienced users may have some good words of wisdom I am sure.  Anything that would help me to get the most out of this program would be nice.

    And I am sure I will come up with some questions along the way.

    Thanks in advance,
    Kent
     
  2. Jabba

    Jabba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    The Great State of Texas!
    Right out of the box, Proxo will do a lot.
    I was a newbie about 5 months ago.
    Since then I have learned a lot, but not enough, about the power of this tiny utility.
    Are you having any problems??
    Some websites may not load properly or allow you access when using Proxo.
    If it's a site you frequently visit. Just copy the URL and open up the Bypass list via the Edit list option. Look at the entries placed there by the author of Proxo and Paste the URL in the list then edit your entry to mimic what the other entries look like.  Then hit SAVE and close the Notepad.
    The learning curve is steep for some. But when you fire up proxo originally, it does what you need it to do. This gives you time to read, read and read some more, so you can tweak it to your liking.
    Remember. You can always select Reload Default Settings under File if things get too screwed up. You'll be right back where you were when you first downloaded it.
    Hope this helps. ;)
     
  3. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Thanks Jabba!!!

    I am already having fun with it but my nature is impatient.  I want to get the most from it as qyick as I can.  As I said, impatient!!!

    One question that come to mind is does anyone know of a good forum to exchange ideas and learn from for Proxomitron?  If there are any that would probably be a good place for me to start.

    Thanks,
    Kent
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    I'm also looking for a good forum to discuss just Proxomitron. Any responses will be gratefully appreciated from me also.  :)
     
  5. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    http://asp.flaaten.dk/pforum/
     
  6. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    Arne's site is great for Proxo discussions.  If you want to try a packaged config set, you can always take a gander at mine: http://laudanski.com/#PROXO .
     
  7. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello all,

    " http://asp.flaaten.dk/pforum/ " FanJ thanks for the link.  I will check it out shortly.

    " If you want to try a packaged config set, you can always take a gander at mine: http://laudanski.com/#PROXO ."  Thanks Zhen-Xjell.  I will play with your config file in the next few days.

    Thanks for all the response and help so far,
    Kent
     
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello all,

    I have found two other Proxomitron forums:

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/prox-list/

    and

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/proxomitron/ .

    Kent
     
  9. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Paul,

    Guess I will tell on myself big time as to how nuch of a newbie to Proxomitron I really am........

    I have DL'ed your packaged config set but have no idea of how to install it or where to put the files when I extract them.....

    Guess I need a little instruction in this area or where to go to find this info.......

    Thanks,
    Kent
     
  10. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hey, no problem... just unzip "zx.zip" into your proxomitron root installation folder.  If you have made changes to your current config set, then back it up first.  If not, then go ahead and overwrite everything with my files.  

    That's it.  :D
     
  11. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Thanks Paul,

    I tried your Packaged config and I guess that with me being a newbie it just confused me.  I had a lot of web pages that did not want to work.  I do not know if your config is compatible with the newest release of Proxomitron but I think that until I become a little more knowegable user, I had better stick with some of the default configs.

    Thanks,
    Kent
     
  12. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    Sounds good to me.  The reason why I make the package is because the default install doesn't block a lot of things.  My package blocks things to extremes by default.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.