protecting zone alarm pro

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by gr49erluvr, Aug 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gr49erluvr

gr49erluvr Registered Member

I thought I read somewhere that I do not need to add zone alarm pro to process guard to protect it , is this true? Or should I go ahead and add to the list?
    Thanks in advance :D

2. dallen

dallen Registered Member

I'm no expert, but my intuition tells me that you DO want to protect ZA Pro. I say this for a couple of reasons. First, it is a core layer of security and you don't want to leave it vulnerable to attack. Second, it is capable of accessing the Internet and I read somewhere that you want to protect anything that is capable of connecting to the Internet. Hope this helps.

3. Dazed_and_Confused

Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

What Dallen suggests is not a bad idea. I asked a while back this same question on the ZA forum. I was told that ZA has built-in protection, and protects itself. I was told PG protection was not necessary, but wound not hurt. I use both ZA and PG, and have not added ZA to my protected programs list. :)

4. gr49erluvr

Thank you both for your quick replies. I'll sleep on it. :)

5. Pilli

Pilli Registered Member

Hi gr49erluvr, ZA does a very good job at protecting itself so using Process Guard maybe overkill.
    As ZA's .exes are on the PG's checksum list any change to it's .exe's would be noticed by Process Guard which adds another layer of protection which cannot be bad. :)

HTH Pilli

6. gr49erluvr

Thank you Pilli.

7. Devinco

Devinco Registered Member

Hi gr49erluvr,

It is just my opinion, but I would add it.
    I think you only need to add vsmon.exe because that is the actual firewall service(process) that needs to be protected. zlclient.exe is just the user interface part of ZAP that sits in the system tray so it is not important (others could confirm this).