protect pc when using p2p like utorrent

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by carlo_scute, Jan 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. carlo_scute

carlo_scute Registered Member

Good day to all moderators,members,fellows

It's my first post,and i'm a newbie

My question is about pc protection.I'll be getting my dsl connection
    within the next few weeks.I
    'm interested in p2p to get "personal downloads"

i know most forums and experts disagree in this type of downloads,but it's my own preference or choice that is.i'm intersted in utorrent,limewire and mirc to get music and movies,

my main question is: how to protect my pc in the best way possible against bad things like malware:viruses,spyware,hackers if possible.

my future setup is a simple pc to modem connection using download speed of up to 384kbps from a local tel.co.(entry level)

i heard of peer guardian from this forum-does that help?
    and how do you use it..,with the p2p software i mentioned.
    thanks for your patience.

2. lucas1985

lucas1985 Retired Moderator

P2P safety

3. argus tuft

argus tuft Registered Member

I'm certainly no expert, but PG is really easy. Set it to run with windows, tell it to look for updates every other day and forget about it! It works by filtering out known 'bad' addresses, anti p2p orgs, spyware vendors etc. If you set it to block http (which methlabs -makers of pg2- recommend) and you find a site you like is blocked you can either allow http while your browsing that particular site, or make an allow for 15 minutes, 1 hour, or permanently for that particular ip. You can set the icon to blink whenever an http address is blocked, so that you know when it's happening.