Program Update Why Not

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by techgy, Jun 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. techgy

techgy Registered Member

I've been using Eset Smart Security for a couple of years and although I have no complaint regarding the level of protection, I'm disappointed in having to uninstall my current version and then do a reinstall when a newer version comes along.

Almost every security package I've used over the years has always updated both their definitions and software automatically.

What gives? When can we expect this to be changed?:(

2. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

This has been discussed numerous times here at Wilders'. A PCU to upgrade v3 users to the latest v3 version 3.0.684 is being gradually distributed to v3 users with older builds. As for minor updates containing fixes to certain issues, we don't recommend installing them unless you experience an issue that was fixed in newer builds. Major fixes to modules are usually distributed with signatures updates. As for installing a newer build, you needn't uninstall the previous version (this is only recommended but not inevitable) as reinstallation over older versions is supported.

3. techgy

techgy Registered Member

Thanks for the response and information. I can only assume then that an minor new build wouldn't contain any new features. And that new features would result in a new build (ie; v4.x to 5.x).

However, in regards to doing an installation over an existing version isn't recommended; "Important:
    Before installing, we recommend uninstalling your current protection (including older versions of ESET software), to ensure a smooth transition.

This quote was taken from the "Download" page of Eset and instructs users to remove their existing version first.

I must admit that the removal of existing/operational security software so that a newer version can be installed is a dangerous practice as it leaves the system open to an intrusion.