ProcessGuard v3.150 and AntiHook v2.5

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by elumineX, Jul 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. elumineX

elumineX Registered Member

At the moment I have Antihook (Pro version) and ProcessGuard (Registered version) running at the same time. What I've noticed is that Processguard's execution protection alerts automatically are supressed when antihook is running. Execution of an unknown program named virus.exe would call a window in antihook, where I can choose to block or allow i virus.exe to run, but Processguard wouldn't react to this. I just want to know if this is normal.

2. slasher

slasher Guest

I'm not an expert on PG but I like AH more because it is improving so fast and has some registry protection that PG doesn't. Also AH will be coming out with another version soon that will be even better. How can you beat the free price of AH with a $30. price tag for PG?

3. richrf

richrf Registered Member

Without knowing the exact technical handling of the two products:

1) If you block the virus from executing then probably PG would never see it.

2) If you allow the virus to execute, and control is passed on to the next "hook" (as it should be if it is properly handled), then PG should see it. This is what is happening to me when I run Online Armor concurrently with PG.

If this is not what you are seeing, it could be a problem with the way Anti-Hook has been designed. If you are curious, you may want to reverse the installation order to see what happens, since according to the MS documentation, the software that is installed last, is first in line.

Maybe others can shed some more light.

Rich

4. Notok

Notok Registered Member