Problem with Avast 5

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by hirudoid22, Oct 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hirudoid22

    hirudoid22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    I was installing Avast free and everything went fine. I had all modules activated and everything looked fine. I could check my mail, but all my browsers were unable to connect to net, Chrome, IE, FF, Opera.
    When I stopped the Webshield my browsers were able to connect to sites again.
    I am not sure what is wrong.

    Hirudoid
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    for some reason that module does not agree with your setup. You are still protected well by realtime scanning
     
  3. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    583
    Typically, this is caused by a personal firewall that is preventing the process AvastSvc.exe from accessing the Internet.

    Please make sure it's allowed as all the web traffic will be routed through it (it works as a transparent HTTP proxy).

    Thanks
    Vlk
     
  4. hirudoid22

    hirudoid22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    I have had Avast 5 Free earlier installed and then tried Panda Cloud but decided to back to Avast. Then this happend.
     
  5. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,757
    i agree and i would say this happens to me with almost every av i install after i have installed the firewall first. i have learned that it is better to install every thing else before the firewall is installed .
     
  6. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,127
    Location:
    USA
    Why not put the FW in learning mode before you install the Avast!.
     
  7. hirudoid22

    hirudoid22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    I am using Windows 7 and its own firewall. I will test it later today.
     
  8. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    hey guys btw...avast5 is stopping the giveawayoftheday page fortrojan,malware activities
    do you guys have it too?
     
  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ye i just got it as well, i wonder if its an FP or if malware is hosted on the site today (perhaps a hacking?)
     
  10. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    yeah smell like it..
     
  11. eugene91

    eugene91 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    188
    yeah avast! WebShield blocked giveawayoftheday.com hmmm..
     
  12. hirudoid2

    hirudoid2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    19
    Just could not find the settings to change in the firewall to let the webshield work. I gave the rights to the webshield process, but to no avail.
    Windows 7 Home 64.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.