Problem with Acronis True Image?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Bornloser, Dec 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bornloser

Bornloser Registered Member

I am new to the True Image software. I installed it and created rescue discs then made an archive of my primary hard drive which has 2 partitions. C partition is labeled "Programs" and D is labeled "Games". I stored the archive onto my second hard drive which is labeled "Backup" (E). I booted the system with the rescue disc to test it. When I go to restore, Backup is labeled "D" and Games is labeled "E". o_O Is there a reason for this odd behavior or is it a glitch of some kind?

2. foghorn

foghorn Registered Member

Not sure why, but the important thing is that you can identify your source and target partitions, regardless of what the boot up platform has labelled them.

If you are restoring an OS, when you boot it, the drive names will be as they were at the time of backup, regardless of what they are called during the restoration process.

3. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello Bornloser,

Thank you for using Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

Here is the explanation of the situation.
    When you boot from Acronis bootable disk Linux operational system is booted and it assigns letters to partitions in the following way:
    It finds your first drive and the first primary partition on it is given a letter C. Then it finds the second primary partition on the same disk and if there is no any it goes to the next drive and finds the first primary partition there. After all primary partitions on all drives in the system have their letters Linux finds first logical partition on the first drive etc.