PrivateFirewall - Need Help

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by IhazAcarrot, Feb 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IhazAcarrot

IhazAcarrot Registered Member

I've been using Comodo Firewall for a couple of years but it has become a bloated mess and I trust it much less than I used to.
    I'm trying to replace it with PrivateFirewall but I'm having trouble getting PrivateFirewall to behave the way I want it to.

I need it to block all programs that try to access the Internet until I grant access.
    For example: If I open Firefox, I want PrivateFirewall to block its access to the Internet, then prompt me to ask me if I want to grant access, and then continue blocking until I grant access.

So far I haven't been able to find a way to make PrivateFirewall do this.

Right now I've got it set to where it asks if I want to grant Firefox access to the Internet but, in the meantime, while its waiting for my answer, it allows Firefox to have access to the Internet.
    In other words, it's allowing Internet access by default and I want it to block access by default.

2. lllbob

lllbob Registered Member

Try this: Open PrivateFirewall. Click File (at the top) Click Settings.
    Put a check by: Disable Trusted Publisher Feature. Click Ok.
    I think that might do the job.

If that does not solve it, remove mozilla from trusted publishers.
    Open PrivateFirewall. Click File (at the top) Click Settings. Click the Advanced tab (at the top).
    Now Click the Trusted Publishers button thingy. lol Then select mozilla corporation. Click Remove. Click Ok.

You may also have to remove firefox from the applications menu, if it has already added it.
    Hope that helps.

Edit: oh yeah.. might need to select: File: Settings: Manual Control. (Require user input for all alerts.)

3. IhazAcarrot

Thank you lllbob for the reply.