POST Error Message

Discussion in 'Forum Related Discussions' started by MessageBoxA, Jul 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MessageBoxA

MessageBoxA Registered Member

I get the following error when I attempt to log into this forum:

In order to accept POST request originating from this domain, the admin must add this domain to the whitelist.

It appears to be caused by the correct and well formed trailing dot representing 'root' in the domain name. I am a middle-aged software engineer/security researcher and come from a heavy Unix background and have a habit of adding the root domain to all of my typed URL.

https://www.wilderssecurity.com./

I realize that I am much older than most users on this forum but sometimes I feel like I am one of the only dinosaurs left that follows the DNS RFC 1034.

http://www.dns-sd.org/TrailingDotsInDomainNames.html

Thanks for listening.
    -MessageBoxA

2. LowWaterMark

LowWaterMark Administrator

I'm sorry, but, no one else here is using the trailing dot. We're using a default vBulletin configuration, which does not include the trailing dot on the referrer authorization list. I really don't see a good reason for us to change the vBulletin settings because of an old style of entering website addresses, especially when the fix is for people to simply not add that dot in the first place. The RFC is very likely correct, of course, but, it's just not used anymore, certainly not by 99.9% of the web users. Besides that, you must really have to work at keeping that dot there since we use a rewrite rule that changes all incoming references to "www.wilderssecurity.com" - e.g. "wilderssecurity.com" and "wilderssecurity.com." get changed back to "www.wilderssecurity.com" with each click.