Possibly stupid question about two-factor authentication

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by MikeBCda, May 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MikeBCda

MikeBCda Registered Member

I've little or no experience with this process (unless the "secret question" thing counts as a form of it), so please bear with my ignorance.

From what I've read here and elsewhere, I've gotten the impression that the most common forms of two-factor authentication seem to take for granted that the applicant/member/whatever has some sort of mobile device to which a code can be texted or whatever.

What about those of us, like myself, who don't have a mobile phone and no particular need for (or interest in) one? How does 2-factor work for us?

2. merisi

merisi Registered Member

I know that Paypal has two factor authentication key that provides you with a unique code. LastPass also uses a Yubikey for authentication. I've also seen the use of tokens but not sure how it works. There's no uniformity so it's at the discression of the service you use.

3. Nebulus

Nebulus Registered Member

4. HAN

HAN Registered Member

The common thing I've read about 2 factor authentication is to use something you know (user name and password) and something you don't know but have exclusive access to (eg., the code generated by text or an app like Google's mobile Authenticator.)

You have the first. You just need to know what is available/acceptable for the something you don't know but have access to. And as merisi notes, some sites offer more than one way to accomplish the latter.

The other thing to keep in mind is that some websites offer 2 factor authentication but also offer a way to bypass it. Examples would be Outlook.com and Gmail. Both offer 2 factor but then they weaken it by using something called Application Specific Passwords.