Possible conflict with Security system programming software.

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by jpmc13, Feb 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jpmc13

jpmc13 Registered Member

Hi;
    I have been using NOD32 for several months now, and love how it works in the background and how it updates itself daily. I purchased a new laptop to program electronic security systems back in September as my old laptop was experiencing problems at boot up. My old laptop had Norton AV on it and there was never a problem. I installed NOD32 on the new machine, and almost immediately started having problems when using the alarm software. I am not a software programmer, so I can't say for sure exactly what is causing the problem. The only other software that I installed on the new laptop was Mozilla FireFox. I didn't install anything else like I had on the older laptop, such as MS Office or Quickbooks Pro, etc. I tried to keep this machine running as fast and as lean as possible. Almost immediately, I started getting General Protection Fault errors when online with a subscriber's control panel. The software is called Compass and is used for programming Honeywell (Ademco) burglar and fire alarm systems. I spent many hours online and on hold with tech support, all to no avail. The only thing different about my laptop was the anti-virus software. What was weird, I didn't get a GPF error every time. I finally started quitting NOD32 prior to starting the Compass software, and the problem seems to have gone away. I was online with a subscriber panel last week, and realized that I hadn't quit NOD32, so I shut it down right away. Well guess what? About 30 seconds later I got a GPF error. I have to disconnect and actually reboot the laptop to correct the problem, and then shut off NOD32 before starting the Compass software again. Any thoughts or suggestions? I apologize for the long winded post, but I figured I would otherwise have people asking me a bunch o