Port Scans

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by User Name, Nov 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. User Name

User Name Guest

Hi,
    Can someone advice me. I am a novice user of TDS3. Just started using it.(2 days). I am being harassed by someone that scan my ports. Up to 665 scans in 4 hours. The portscans always follows a reset of my dialup connection. When I reconnect the scans starts and will keep on till I disconnect. Sometimes i get disconnected again and when i reconnect, it starts again. My connections is set up never to hang up when idle. I use outpost firewall which detects these portscans. Its done on TCP (445) and 99% of the scans is from the same IP address range.

I did a Trace Target Host and get this:

22:13:53 [Trace] Tracing route to 155.239.170.241 (tpr-ip-nas-ov-1-p241.telkom-ipnet.co.za)
    22:13:54 [Trace] 02: 218ms 196.43.12.53 (wblv-ip-esr-1-atm-5-0-0-6.telkom-ipnet.co.za)
    22:13:55 [Trace] 03: 236ms 196.43.10.142 (wblv-ip-er-1-fe-11-1-0-2.telkom-ipnet.co.za)
    22:13:56 [Trace] 04: 453ms 196.43.11.206 (tpr-ip-er-1-ge-3-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za)
    22:13:57 [Trace] 05: 469ms 196.43.14.249 (tpr-ip-nas-ov-1-fe-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za)
    22:14:10 [Trace] 6: ICMP error or host not responding
    22:14:22 [Trace] 07:11452ms 155.239.170.241 (tpr-ip-nas-ov-1-p241.telkom-ipnet.co.za)
    22:14:22 [Trace] Trace complete!

Ip addresses 196.43.12.53 (trace 2) and 196.43.10.142 (trace 3) figure in most of the tracings.

What can i deduct from this. Is Trace 05 the culprit or is it trace 02 and 03.

What is happening here and what can i do to stop this?
    I have reported this to my ISP and send them logfiles of the incidents. They replied that they will investigate and thats it. This has been going on for 2 months now.

I am desperate and really p.....off!!!
    PLEASE HELP

2. Pilli

Pilli Registered Member

Hi User Name, First get all the latest security patches for your operating system,