Port explorer , Server priveleges ??

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by asdf, Feb 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. asdf

    asdf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Posts:
    28
    o_O Hi ,
    ZA Pro blocks PE from receiving connections from the net.I give PE internet and trusted zone access,isn't that enough to run the program smoothly?
    Do i have to give it server access too?
    journey
     
  2. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I would suggest you try it, Port Explorer needs low level access to your network system so if you block it in your firewall you will need to let Port Explorer in. Report back with any findings.
    -Jason-
     
  3. asdf

    asdf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Posts:
    28
    OK ,
    I allowed server priveledges and ZA looking good.Do i have to uninstall prior to upggrading to PE 1.5 or is there an update feature? :p
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hello Journey.
    When V1.5 is released it will over install your current version and should be available through PE's update facility.
     
  5. Disciple

    Disciple Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Ellijay, Georgia - USA
    Re:port explorer , Server privileges ??

    I have blocked PE and all other programs from acting as an internet server, with no ill effects. After all do you really want any of your programs accepting connections from every Tom, Dick, and Harry around the world?

    Seriously unless you are running a web server all of your apps can be blocked.
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Disciple, What you say is true but PE only accesses the net by your request, Yours, not Tom, Dicks or Harrys - PE can do only Who is, Trace route etc.
    It does watch everything else that accesses the net but not as a server.
    So what is your problem? There is nothing wrong with something acting as a server (your words) if the request is yours & valid?
    Anyway you can also add the PE PID to Socket Spy & sniff the packets, again no problem there. If you want to be totally safe don't use the web :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.