Pondering a Macbook Air

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Cruise, Feb 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cruise

Cruise Registered Member

My son accidentally knocked my 3-year old 14" Toshiba notebook off a table and it didn't survive the impact onto the tile floor, so now I'm considering getting a Macbook Air (13") netbook and I'd appreciate your thoughts before 'pulling the trigger'.

Here's a brief background with my specific needs:

I'm a writer and when I'm at home I do most of my work on my desktop PC. However, I frequently travel and need a relatively small and light notebook/netbook for those times when I'm on the road. I've been using MS Word for my word-processing on both my desktop and laptop. Other than word-processing, I would just use the notebook/netbook for email and surfing the web. I am not a gamer.

As a writer, keyboard quality is very important to me. Furthermore, as I frequently work in the evening hours when I'm on the road, a backlit keyboard would be a big plus.

I've read a lot of very positive reviews of the Macbook Air and although I know I can get MS Office (Word) for the Mac, the issue that concerns me is that I've never used a Mac before!

What do you guys think?

Cruise

2. Hungry Man

Hungry Man Registered Member

My exgf has an air and I've spent a lot of time using it. Very light, great screens, great trackpad, great battery life. I'm not a fan of OSX but the machine itself is excellent.

The keyboard is backlit and top notch.

There will be some "getting to know" time for the OS but you could always run Windows or Linux.

3. Cruise

Cruise Registered Member

HM, thanks for that feedback (which is consistent with what most others say about the Macbook Air).

Yeah, I know I could run Windows on the Mac - if only one of those new PC ultrabooks had those features I'd prefer staying with a PC, but I haven't come across one that can match the Macbook Air's build-quality.

Cruise

4. Hungry Man

5. Cruise