Please teach me about scanners

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Pollmaster, Jul 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pollmaster

Pollmaster Guest

Good Static unpacker = KAV, Bitdefender?

Good Emulation = Ewido , VBA32?

Good heuristics = NOD32 (anymore?)

Good behaviour blocker = A2 squared IDS/ Panda Truprevent?

Questions

1) What is the difference if any between 'Emulation' and generic unpackering? Are there other ways to do generic unpacking other than through emulation?

2)

This means detecting malware, without 'really' unpacking ?

3) What is the difference between heuristics and behaviour blocker. Also Would behaviour blocking involve emulation as well?

4) If I have a 'real memory scanner' why should I worry about whether the scanner can do generic unpacking or static unpacking? Won't the memory scanner pick it up when i try to run it ?

I apolgise if my questions are so basic, I'm a newbie at this, so I crave your words of wisdom.

Regards
    Pollmaster

2. Blackcat

Blackcat Registered Member

It may not answer all your questions, but Technodrome's tour de force is a good starting point ;)

3. Pollmaster

Pollmaster Guest

Blackcat

I read this already thank you. That's where I learnt all these buzz words like "emulation", true "memory scanner". I also heard of active versus passive emulation already.

You are a AV expert, can you help me?

4. Firecat

Firecat Registered Member

1)Consider the difference between emulation and generic unpacking similar to the difference between heuristics and generic signatures :D

2)No. It means that the NOD heuristic engine has a built-in generic unpacker ;)

3)A behaviour blocker is like a firewall, that is, it will only alert you once the suspicious program executes itself.

On the other hand, heuristics can also detect suspicious files via the general on-demand/real-time scans. :)