Please Help this noob find a backup strategy thats right

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Tryton, Nov 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tryton

Tryton Registered Member

I'm a noob to backing up and wanted to see if someone could guide me to the best backup practice. I'm a home user with 10gigs of MP3's, a ton of photos, and some doc's. I have done 1 full backup to a network drive and had the image verified (Which took hrs!) To backup 30 gigs. So now I have one perfect image in case of disaster. Now not much changes, maybe some new photos or a song or two in a month. How should I backup? Do I do Full backups once a week? Or maybe once a month. Do I keep that perfect image (which has everything, MP3's, photos,docs, OS,) separate? Do you see how confused I am, lol. Please help this noob with a backup solution, I own TI v10. Thanks to all that help! o_O

2. Tryton

Tryton Registered Member

anyone?

3. David07666

David07666 Registered Member

I'm another new user with substantially the same issue. Here's what I decided to do:

I created a backup location defined for max 30 days backup, max 150 gb backup size, max of 14 generations backup. I run differential backups, not incremental. The idea here is that I want to always be able to go back to any of 14 days looking for stuff. I do have some stuff, like word docs, that change from time to time, but not much.

I'm still experimenting with how it works and haven't gone through a full cycle of 14 days yet, to see how long it takes with verification, etc. It's also almost totally unclear to me what TI will do on day 15, ie, is it smart enough to delete my oldest differential and keep the base, etc.

If it's not clear what I'm doing let me know.

4. CatFan432

CatFan432 Registered Member

Tryton,

What is your HD configuration? Do you have everything on your C partition, or split up on different partitions?

5. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member