PGP and WinXP

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by puff-m-d, Mar 25, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. puff-m-d

puff-m-d Registered Member

Hello all,

I am test running the newest release of The Bat! and so far I really like it.  My question is this: I have tried PGP on my system before and found that it does not like WinXP.  Is there a WinXP compatible version of PGP out there so I ca play with the PGP in The Bat!?  I have tried to load and run the latest PGP from McAffe but it crashes my system.  I am new to this (Pgp and e-mail, PGP and anything really) and any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Kent

2. luv2bsecure

luv2bsecure Infrequent Poster

Hi Kent:

This story is really sordid.

PGP in its past or present incarnations will not work with XP. There was  hope when word was a Win2K version of 6.02 seemed to work, but even that has apparently turned out to not be fully compatible.

Network Associates owns the current rights to develop and market PGP. With Zimmermann's original deal he allowed for continued use of a free PGP. NAI would release code when Zimmermann actually worked for NAI/McAfee. After a dust-up over releasing code, PZ left and PGP has been the step child ever since.

Now the really sordid part (in my opinion). Network Asssociates has an XP version ready to go (along with a MAC OS X version) but have halted all PGP marketing efforts and has refused to ship the long-awaited versions.

Zimmermann is looking for the OpenPGP standard to find an "angel" to fund a more robust PGP and bring back the good old days. So far, no takers on NAI's attempts at selling the PGP division or in PZ's hopes of finding an angel for a full-blown open source drive for a "new PGP" that is consumer friendly with the kind of interface that we would see with the NAI versions, or better.

What a sad story for a storied piece of software.

John  

3. MickeyTheMan

MickeyTheMan Security Expert