perfectdisk or diskeeper for the boot defrag?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by mantra, Feb 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

mantra Registered Member

Hi

i used ultimatedefrag 2008 but the boot defrag is buggy

now i want to get out of rid it
    and install or perfectdisk or diskeeper

i know they are the best defrag

but i 'm looking for the best boot mft defrag

so i'm talking about the boot defrag
    which does the best job?
    which does respect the XP mft layout and position ?

i mean which is able to position, place , defrag the MTF like a fresh xp install

thanks
    really appreciate your help

have a nice day

2. rdsu

rdsu Registered Member

For me, PD!

3. mantra

mantra Registered Member

thanks
    did you make some compare between a xp and a xp after pd , i mean the location of the mft (reserved zone) plus the other files?

4. RAD

RAD Registered Member

I am not technically astute-enough to know if it is "the best" or "just like a fresh XP install", but I know that PD2008 and now PD10 both "work" and produce report results that show the pagefile and MFT with 0 fragments an contiguously located.

Interestingly enough, though, often the "smart placement" does not really take things to ZERO defrag, but leaves some files with a few fragments.
    Multiple passes with boot-time defrags can get absolute zero though.

Basically, I don't even care if my disks are "perfect"; I just want them "darn good" and to have a defragger that doesn't scramble things ! I leave PD10 on "autopilot" all the time.

5. tetsuo55

tetsuo55 Registered Member

PD usually wins tests and stuff.

Works like a charm on all my systems.

6. mantra

mantra Registered Member

shame that pd could be customized like ultimate defrag :(

i mean pd defines how defrag the partition , and how puts folder and files

7. Huupi

Huupi Registered Member

Yes they call it ''smart '' ,the whole bunch to the outer edge ! :D