pehelp.chm - Page cannot be displayed

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by bluewind, Mar 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bluewind

bluewind Registered Member

Hello, I am new to PortExplorer and wish to check out the Help before installing it.

I downloaded pehelp.zip, unzipped pehelp.chm and ran it. And I continue to get "Page cannot be displayed" screens for all Help topics.

Since joining the forum and having gotten the wilders cookie, I tried the help file again. But the help file is still as above.

I haven't seen any hit in ZoneAlarm for the Diamond CS website or any website at all when opening or browsing through the help file. Also, ZoneAlarm is not set to block any activity with this file or the Diamond CS website. If it blocked, I would see it in the logs.

Does the Help file need to a the Diamond CS cookie or does the Diamond CS website need to be added to my trusted sites in order to see the Help?

The Help file is 300k which seems big for just a collection of links.

I am running XP Pro SP2, ZoneAlarm Pro, and Symantec Anti-Virus (doesn't block anything except viruses.)

Any ideas, anyone?

2. Wayne - DiamondCS

Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

None of our helpfiles reference any external/internet-based data so your firewall shouldnt see any activity in that sense.

Are you able to view any other CHM files? (There's plenty in your Windows\Help\ directory)

This is because it's not just a collection of links ... :). It has a lot of text and many images in there to help users empower themselves with the software and understand every aspect of the program.

Best regards,
    Wayne

3. bluewind

Hello Wayne.

Yes, I have no problems viewing .chm files. I re-checked several just in case something changed on me and they all displayed easily.

Unfortunately, I also checked the ProcessGuard Help file (procguard.chm) which has the same display problem (Page cannot be displayed - for every topic) as pehelp.chm.