Password combinations, how many for these?

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by TheStuuudent, Sep 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheStuuudent

TheStuuudent Registered Member

(i) A six-character password consisting only of lowercase letters

(ii) A six-character password consisting of only upper- and lowercase letters

(iii) An eight-character password consisting only of lowercase letters

(iv) An eight-character password consisting of only upper- and lowercase letters

(v) An eight-character password consisting of upper- and lowercase letters and at least one numeric digit (0–9)

(vi) A ten-character password consisting of upper- and lowercase letters and at least one numeric digit (0–9)

(vii) Explanation of Method Used for Calculation:

Can anyone help with these questions? I'm posting in privacy to get the best answers by some of you brainiacs. I'm not too good at math, it relates to a cracking project I''m doing.

Thanks in advance.

2. S.B.

S.B. Registered Member

Hard to believe that none of the knowledgeable, and in many cases, brilliant, users who frequent these forum, have answered your questions.

Instead of answering your questions directly, let me try to tell you how to figure out the answers. It's really not all that difficult. Here goes.

Suppose I have a single, six-sided die, with the numbers 1 through 6 on the six sides. I roll that die. As will be apparent, there are 6 possible results; 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6.