Partitions Not Detecting Correctly

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by DasFox, Jan 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DasFox

DasFox Registered Member

I have two drives, and on the 1st drive I have two partitions, C and D.

The second drive is just storage and has been left as one partition.

In the Windows setup if I reinstall Windows XP the D partition on the 1st drive gets detected as E and the second drive's partition gets detected as D.

I don't get why it's doing this, any tool anyone can recommend to see if there are any partition errors it can automatically fix?

THANKS

2. innerpeace

innerpeace Registered Member

I'm new to partitioning, but have you tried changing the drive letters for D: and E:? I know when I reinstalled XP a month ago, I had to re-arrange things a bit. Do you know how to get into disk management? You can find it by clicking Start, then right-click My Computer, then click Manage, the click Disk Management. It should now display your drives and partitions. You can right-click one and then select Change Drive Letters and Paths and then click Change and choose your drive letter. Windows will have to remain the C: partition.

3. DasFox

DasFox Registered Member

Sure I know how to change the letters, that's not what I want, I believe there is something wrong with the tables, otherwise they'd report correct in the setup.

So I want a partition repair app to exam the partitions and fix any errors on it...

4. Kerodo

Kerodo Registered Member

If you delete all the partitions when you reinstall XP, it will then assign drive letters in the order that you create the new partitions, starting with C, then D etc. It will use a letter in there somewhere for the CDROM drive (or DVD drive) also.