Panda using too much resource! Need replacement!!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Gigabyte, Apr 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gigabyte

Gigabyte Registered Member

Ok, I have been using Panda Internet Security for the last two years or so. There product is good,but there latest Suite I think is a resource hog. For example,here are the number for the resources that it uses. I will just give numbers for the various functions..
    66000k Does this seem high to you gus/gals? I was looking in Zonealarm internet Security,but I hear that theres may be just as bad. So, I need a replacement for Panda. Other than the aforementioned problem,there True prevent Technology stops some of my legitimate programs from running,Boclean for example. They are taking there sweet time trying to rectify the problem.

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

those numbers do not surprise me. Panda also runs a lot or background processes, even if u just have TruPrevent.

ZoneAlarm SS is lighter than Panda, if ur considering it. for a suite, id go with KIS 2006. good AV, ok firewall, and it has proactive defense (HIPS).

3. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

If resources are a consideration you might look at Computer associates Internet Security suite. It is a pretty fair setup and the resources are fairly low. But if you want real kick butt protection F-Secure Internet Security suite 2006 would be my recomendation. It uses the Kav av engine plus three more engines also. and it updates every hour and it has rootkit detection and antispyware and more. F-Secure actually runs very light on my computer.

Last edited: Apr 29, 2006
  4. flyrfan111

flyrfan111 Registered Member

The numbers don't surprise me either. In fact I think you might have missed a process or two, I thought PIS uses 6-8 processes, normally using a total of 80-100 megs of RAM.

5. hamlet

hamlet Registered Member