Overall Fortified Net Defenses

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Harken, Jan 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Harken

Harken Guest

Hi everyone, before I begin I just want to say this is a great website, I was clueless about internet security before I was referred here - and after alot of reading and research was amazed at just how little I knew. Great job and keep it up!

My question is this, seeing as I am still new to all this I am seeking advice about my systems overall defenses from you pro's. I have the following security programs installed and running:

-SPYWATCH (S&D) SEARCH & DESTROY (I am using this program until AdAware gets updated)

-ZONE ALARM (Free version firewall)

-VISUAL ZONE (Addendum application for Zone Alarm - some trouble with ZoneAlarm log files -recently managed to fix however)

-KERIO PERSONAL FIREWALL (a second firewall because Im paranoid)

-BROWSER HIJACK BLASTER

-NORTONS: ANTI-VIRUS [Utility in Nortons System Works]

Question 1
    I have not encountered any problems with running these programs in conjunction, are there any that you know of? If so recommended replacements?

Question 2
    Are these programs enough? If not, can you recommend additional programs for me to get?

Thanks

2. Checkout

Checkout Security Rhinoceros

There are many things you still require. Perhaps there should be a thread started with lists them?

You need:

AntiVirus
    AntiTrojan
    Registry Protection
    Script Protection
    Mail Protection
    Worm Protection
    Privacy Protection

...and other things, which I'm sure other board members will contribute to.

3. Harken

Harken Registered Member

You need:

AntiVirus
    [I have Nortons AntiVirus, as I specified above, are you saying this isn't enough?]

AntiTrojan
    [recommendation?]

Registry Protection
    [recommendation?]

Script Protection
    [recommendation?]

Mail Protection