"Operation has completed with errors"

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by stingray55, Aug 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stingray55

stingray55 Registered Member

This is my first time with ATI, and I'm no geek compared to all of you... much of what I've tried to read on the forum is double Greek to me, I'm afraid!

I have a brand new Dell (yeah, I know ;-), 500GB HD, 4GB RAM, Dual Core Pentium 4. It came partitioned with a C and D drive, the D drive being small and called "Backups". I used Partition Magic to make D much larger and C smaller, as I wanted to have my data and email on D and use C just for Windows and Programs.

After removing much of their rubbish, and installing some programs of my own, I did a full backup image to an external HD (firewire). A couple of days later, an update to my Logitech Bluetooth mouse/keyboard (MX5000) went wrong and the Bluetooth went whoopsy. It doesn't matter what I do, I can't uninstall it and I can't get it back either. Something to do with the Widcomm program and BTtray.exe and a missing DLL; and the 2nd bluetooth driver no longer shows in Device Manager. Every time I now start up the computer, I always get an error message about Bluetooth tray, which is very annoying. So I thought I'd use the ATI backup to restore my C Drive. System Restore won't work anyway, for some odd reason, telling me that it couldn't restore.

I verified my backup file and it was fine. But when I try to restore it, I get an error message telling me: "Operation has completed with errors". When the computer reboots, it's the same as before and no restoration. I don't know what the errors are, as the ATI log doesn't show them.

I ran chkdsk e: /r (for the external hard disk where the ATI archive is), and then defragged. I've no idea if chkdsk found anything as I wouldn't know where to look. Defrag said it couldn't defrag the one ATI backup file I want to use.