OpenVPN - I've Got Some Questions?

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by DasFox, Nov 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DasFox

DasFox Registered Member

With a vpn I'm using when I looked at the logs for OpenVPN I noticed this;

OpenVPN 2.1 requires '--script-security 2' or higher to call user-defined scripts or executables

I'm new to OpenVPN is this something setup on the server side? I have the OpenVPN GUI is there anything to be concerned with simply making a connection as a client?

Also in the log I saw this;

WARNING: this configuration may cache passwords in memory -- use the auth-nocache option to prevent this

Again something I need to worry about, something I need to set?

With tls-auth, if I make a key;

openvpn --genkey --secret ta.key

In the client configuration, add:

tls-auth ta.key 1

Is this going to make the client side for me more secure connecting to the server?

I downloaded openvpn-2.1.3-install.exe and it looks like this;

http://openvpn.se/screenshots.html

When you click on the HowTo the software looks like this;

http://openvpn.net/index.php/openvp...-to-a-vpn-server-with-the-openvpn-client.html

So what's the deal with that nicer looking GUI one, is that the latest beta?

One last question, it said in the setup to right click the icon for Win7 and check it to run as an admin, but I'm running under a admin account in Win7 do I still need to check this, because I didn't.

THANKS

2. hierophant

hierophant Registered Member

I can't help re Windows, because I now use Ubuntu VMs for VPNs. Running OpenVPN 2.1.0 i486-pc-linux-gnu with the stock XeroBank config files, I see "NOTE: OpenVPN 2.1 requires '--script-security 2' or higher to call user-defined scripts or executables". I don't believe that's relevant for this.

OTOH, I don't see anything re "memory" or "password". And I don't know tis-auth.

3. DasFox

DasFox Registered Member

Ok, next hehe... :)

THANKS

4. raidershog

raidershog Registered Member