OK - ESS and Windows Firewall XP/Vista

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by rapierau, Aug 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rapierau

rapierau Registered Member

ESS boffins - Im not comprehending this.

I have updated ESS to Beta 2 on 3 machines. 2x XPH boxes and one Vista Ultimate box. Taking into account the update and restart to fix the "your account will expire" problem all is good. I really like the new look of the GUI and the icon is new and well noticeable. (So was getting use to Vista but Im still using it)

What I have a minor problem with is the not automatic disabling of the Windows firewall across both OS's.

Now Im no expert but shouldnt there be only one firewall activated on each PC. If you leave the Windows Firewall enabled it slows down the network considerably and it takes at least twice as long to get to the ESS flash screen, and in Vista it is very noticeable when you disable the inbuilt firewall and count the seconds till you get that little world on your network icon.

Im sure other users of ESS could verify this.

Now why should we need two Firewalls enabled. We nearly all use a ADSL router or greater (each with inbuilt firewall) and then we have ESS to do the rest at the PC. Surely the inferiority of Windows XP firewall is not required and should be disabled on installation of ESS should be mandatory.

Im interested in your input on this. Yes Im aware that ESS's firewall does not meet all users expectations or is not fully configurable to their needs ATPIT. I have read the relevant forums on this site in relation to this matter, and yes, some of it is still above my understanding.