Odd Image Behavior (could be me)

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cybrguy, Feb 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cybrguy

cybrguy Registered Member

I have been using TI 9 for a couple years, and have rarely restored an image. I was just moving some old images to another backup drive and out of curiosity double-clicked one of the images. My guess was that it would mount an image so that I could look thru it. It started to bring up the TI program, and then started throwing errors like "Failed to read from the sector 63 of the hard disk 3". It gives several similar errors than brings up the "Restore Data Wizard".
    This behavior concerned me, so I checked a couple of my other saved images and they behaved the same way when double-clicked. Yet, if I 'validate" any of the images using the TI tool they show fine.
    Is this behavior normal and I am just using an inappropriate method of accessing the backups, or do I have a problem with my images?

2. Ralphie

Ralphie Registered Member

The Validation process is know for giving false positives. The only way to be 100% sure your Images will Restore successfully is to actually do a Restore to a spare hard drive.

3. cybrguy

Thanks, Raphie, but my question really is, should double-clicking an image bring up the restore image wizard without throwing any errors, or is there something wrong with all the images I have created?

4. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

I think the issue here is just where is the problem. When you double click on a tib file it brings up a TI screen with "Analyzing partition" at the bottom. The question is: Is the partition being analyzed within the image file or is it on the physical HDs in the machine? I don't know but there is a chance if all your images do this that it is the current HD not the image.