Novice question...cloning XP to a partition on 2nd drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by robodiaz, May 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robodiaz

robodiaz Registered Member

So here is my situation. I'm new to this so bare with me.

I have two identical hard drives. Both single partitions.
    Drive1 is my primary drive and has Windows XP.
    Drive2 is a secondary drive and I want to use it for my backups.

I made the mistake of installing windows XP onto Drive1 before creating multiple partitions. What I would have liked to do was create three seperate partitions
    Partition1:Windows XP and Critical software
    Partition2:Games and extra apps
    Partition3:Media

What I want to try and do and I dont know if this is possible but:
    1. Create the three partitions on Drive2
    2. Using TI Create a Clone of Disk1 onto Drive2 Partition1?
    3. Swap drives so Drive2 is now the primary and Drive1 is the secondary.
    4. Reformat Disk1 once i've checked Drive2 is working with XP and use it as my backup.

Am i talking nonsense here? Any help would be appreciated or if someone could redirect me to where this question might be more appropriate. Or if this question has been asked send me to where that is on the forums.

Thanks,
    Robo

2. aoz

aoz Registered Member

acronis disk director, I think you can resize partitions; I'm just learning to work with it
    need to double check, however.
    nick

3. mark3

mark3 Registered Member

The only problem that I see is the cloning part. Some TI users have had problems cloning and some of the more frequent and knowlegable posters appear to steer clear of cloning using TI. Here is a quote from the following thread

https://www.wilderssecurity.com/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=745804

You could try the cloning process but it may not work for you.