Norton's "Idle Time Optimizer" and possible warning!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ratchet, Mar 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchet

ratchet Registered Member

I posted the following question on their forum. I want to put it out here too.
    "I've been using the A-V for three years now and just today noticed "Idle Time Optimizer." My system only utilizes a SSD on x64 W7 SP1, thus have TRIM enabled/defragmentation disabled. Has Norton been able to override the disabled defragmentation? If that is the case, Norton should warn their customers who are running SSDs. Thank you!"
    As you can probably infer, by default it defragments at 7:00PM (my system). I just discovered this and have disabled it but hope it hasn't been doing it since the end of May when I built this PC. Admittedly though, I can't find any evidence of any kind of SSD degradation using Kingston's monitoring tools.
    Response!
    "Hi,

Norton products are aware of SSDs and do not attempt to defrag them.

Stay well and surf safe
    Dick
    Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V20"

Last edited: Mar 21, 2013
  2. xxJackxx

xxJackxx Registered Member

That was the response I expected. The Idle Time Optimizer does things other than defrag, and should not defrag a SSD. Nothing to see here. ;)

3. ratchet

Like what? I might want to re-enable it!

4. xxJackxx

xxJackxx Registered Member

I can't remember as I don't have it currently installed, but I think if you open Norton and look at the tasks there is a list of things affected by the optimizer. If you don't find it I may install it somewhere and look at it later.

5. ratchet

Thank you but don't worry about it unless you are really curious yourself. I'd checked my system scheduled tasks and Norton's events when first discovering this issue. Besides scheduled scans there was something else too (Norton task) but not sure what the source was.