Norton Internet Security 2012 Uninstall

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by TheKid7, Oct 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,394
    I recently installed Norton Internet Security 2012 (90 Day Trial) on someone's PC. The person does not want to pay for an Antivirus/Security Suite. At the time I was thinking that Norton Internet Security 2012 would protect him while he decides what free Antivirus Software he wants to use. He could then just uninstall Norton Internet Security 2012, restart the PC and then install his free Antivirus. After that run the Norton Removal Tool.

    I just realized that the Norton Removal Tool does not list Norton Internet Security 2012.

    Will the normal uninstall of Norton Internet Security 2012 adequately remove Norton Internet Security 2012 prior to installing the free Antivirus software?

    Also, will the Norton Removal Tool remove traces of Norton Internet Security 2012 even though Norton Internet Security 2012 is not listed for the Norton Removal Tool?

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  2. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    3,600
    Location:
    USA
    You likely won't need the removal tool unless something goes wrong with the uninstall.
     
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,797
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    norton uninstaller does a pretty good job you really shouldnt need it unless something goes wrong
     
  5. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,383
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    Unless of course you are wanting to install Kaspersky after Norton,that seems to throw a strop if you even mention the PC has had Norton installed in the past!:D
     
  6. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    3,600
    Location:
    USA
    Just did that last week on 2 machines. No problems.
     
  7. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,383
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    :argh:
    some folk really do need to get a sense of humour!you seemed to have missed or ignored the big smiley at end of my post
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2011
  8. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    4,388
    Location:
    USA
    I saw your smiley, but still wasn't sure if you were serious about Kaspersky complaining :D I've known some AVs detect a previous NIS install apparently based just on the presence of leftover Norton registry keys and abort installation (not remember which ones at the moment). Deleting those keys straightened things out. For those who don't want to edit the registry probably the Norton Removal Tool will take care of it.
     
  9. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    Why not run NRT after the NIS uninstall and before installing another AV/suite if issues might be expected?
    FYI, in a couple of cases I had to run NRT twice (NRT;reboot;NRT) so I could install another AV.
     
  10. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,383
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    Was semi serious,in the past Kaspersky has thrown a fit(for of a better description)if you tried to install one of their products after removing any Norton product without using the NRT,it was a combination of the Norton standard uninstall being very poor(lots of reg keys and other leftovers)and Kaspersky being ultra sensitive to any old AV leftovers
     
  11. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    3,600
    Location:
    USA
    Just because I didn't comment on it doesn't mean it was missed. :p

    I was only sharing my experience with that very situation.
     
  12. zeninftech

    zeninftech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    India
    Hello
    Tnx for information,
    But could u explain me further,
    I want to reinstall NIS 2012, and everytime it says, your trial period has expired..

    I tried all above tricks to uninstall NIS 2012 and then install again it, but I failed.

    So pls show me how to reinstall NIS 2012...

    Tnx in advance
     
  13. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    You can't reset a trial by uninstalling. If that worked, people could uninstall and reinstall every other week and have a working product without paying.
     
  14. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,361
    At least it mentions norton :) .I installed kaspersky last week for a try and it said it found an incompatible program but just opened a blank box with no name in it.Thinking this was normal kaspersky install and there wasnt anything really incompatible ,i let it install ,and then after reboot noticed that it had uninstalled my mbam pro.From googling it seems it has done this to many folks.It didnt fill me with confidence :doubt:
     
  15. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,361
    Ive uninstalled and reinstalled NIS 2012 many times using its normal uninstaller and never had a problem.Should be fine really.
     
  16. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    3,600
    Location:
    USA
    It worked through 2003 if you did it right. :D Though I upgraded every year from 1996 - 2003 anyway so I wasn't stealing anything. I remember the first year that they started to limit subscriptions to a year instead of "lifetime". They had a registry key that had the expiration date in plain text. You could change it to any date you wanted, and it worked. :argh:

    You would have no such luck these days, I am sure they hide their registration data well so if your copy is not working it is expired or blacklisted. As Norton can be had for anywhere from free to cheap these days (look for sales, you don't have to wait long between them) there is NO excuse for anyone to try to work around it.
     
  17. zeninftech

    zeninftech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    India
    I also installed and uninstalled or reinstalled NIS 2012 many times and it worked for me each time but I don't know whats wrong with it this time..
    Pls show me how to change registry value in order to extend trial

    It would be appreciated

    Tnx in advance
     
  18. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    There is nothing wrong; it is working. You should not be able to reset the trial by uninstalling.
     
  19. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    4,388
    Location:
    USA
    Instead of trying to "beat" the program why not find it on sale? It can be had from Frys.com for "free after rebate" sometimes. There are also a number of free AVs that work well.
     
  20. davhag64

    davhag64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Posts:
    25
    I hope I do not upset anyone with this post. It has been a while since I have been on Wilders. I got a little old E-machine to replace my HP, " I was just disatisfied with it". I have a sixty day trial of Norton IS on it and was trying it out because I have heard good things about it. But now I am not sure if I want to buy it or throw my KIS back on this machine. It seems to make my system run so slow, the Internet, Firefox, my programs will quit responding like Tune-up Utilities 2012, etc. I am not sure if it is the norton or my new system. Has anyone had any experience with NIS 2012, good or bad.:doubt:
     
  21. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    It really shouldn't slow down the machine much unless something went wrong during installation or if there is a conflict with something else.
     
  22. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,361
    Im using NIS 2012 now ,and its one of the lightest avs ive used.Im using it on i3 windows 7, 4 gig of ram.I dont know what spec or os your machine is?I also have a lifetime licence for tuneup utilities ,and when i last tried 2012 ,i found that my laptop was faster without it in all areas ,boot time internet etc .Also theres some things in tuneup like auto defrag ,that is also in NIS (SETTINGS>GENERAL>IDLE TIME OPTIMIZER),so make sure both are not turned on.Personally I would try NIS without tuneup installed and stick process lasso on instead.Tuneup also has a very simple process priority tamer ,but its much better implemented in process lasso.
     
  23. davhag64

    davhag64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Posts:
    25
    Wow Maybe I should unistall the Tuneup just to see what it does. I got a good deal and thought it would get my internet to run at its best? I have 7/ 64 bit on this new system, 500 gig hard drive, 4 gig memeory so I was so confused on why it was slow. I may try to go without the Tune up 2012 and see how it does with just the Norton. Never heard of the process lasso so I might research it.
    Thanks for the reply. Hate the thought of removing the Tuneup after just buying it. But oh well.:(
     
  24. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,361
    With the spec you have it shouldnt be slow at all.By the way do you mean that just internet is slow or your pc ,i.e opening files ,boot up times etc?.Going back to tuneup ,as i say i also have a licence and try it when theres new functions etc,but imo tuneup doesnt really do anything for a decent spec machine,and many of its optimisations (especially network) make my internet slower.Might work for some but doesnt for me.Theres no harm in experimenting and uninstalling it.If theres no difference ,then put it back on ,but keep us informed :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.