NOD32v4 Novice Questions

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by rnfolsom, Nov 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rnfolsom

rnfolsom Registered Member

Although I have been using NOD32 since 2005 (initially with version 2.x), and version 4 (now 4.0.467) since July 2009 (I skipped version 3.x), I have some "beginning amateur novice" setup questions, which arose when I finally updated my wife's computer from version 2.7 to 4.0.467 earlier this week, and in the process reviewed my own computer's settings.

All of these questions concern settings found in Setup > Enter Entire Advanced Setup Tree.

1) The Advanced Setup tree window has a Default button in the lower right corner. If this button is selected, does this return ONLY the item selected in the tree (e.g. Email clients > Actions) to its default settings, or does it return EVERYTHING in the tree (from Antivirus and antispyware down to Miscellaneous > Email Client Integration) to its default settings?
    I think the the answer should be "only the item selected," but I can't find that confirmed in the online Help (although it may be there somewhere).

2) Email client protection > POP3,POP3S > Email Clients includes the following:
    Adobe Reader
    SpySweeper User Interface (SpySweeperUI.exe)
    Java's Javaw.exe
    Java's jusched.exe
    IEXPLORE.EXE
    SeaMonkey.exe
    Windows' msiexec.exe
    Windows' svchost.exe
    and even the installation file for the latest JavaRuntimeEnvironment v6u17 update (which I saved after using it).

On my wife's and my computers, the POP3 email client is Mozilla SeaMonkey (roughly a combination of Firefox and Thunderbird, but unfortunately although NOD32 can integrate Thunderbird it can't, at least not yet, integrate SeaMonkey). In the list above, only SeaMonkey is checked.