NOD32 v4 disabled, no update button

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by historicmountain, Aug 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. historicmountain

historicmountain Registered Member

Protection status is "Antivirus protection is disabled. Virus scanner initialization failed. Most of the ESET Smart Security modules will not function properly."

Went into advanced mode and checked "Enable Antivirus and antispyware protection" but it unchecks itself.

Rebooting did not resolve issue.

Unable to uninstall because uninstall fails with error that it is only valid for installed products. Remote uninstall failed. The logs are blank, so there is nothing to check....

I'm new to this product, and this is the only computer with this error. I am still rolling this out, and there are 40 odd computers that are working fine.

OS = Windows XP SP3

Searched the KB with no helpful information at hand. One suggestion was to run update, but the update button is missing entirely.

2. Bubba

Bubba Updates Team

Just a thought, that particular PC has an Admin rights issue :doubt:

3. ccomputertek

ccomputertek Registered Member

it sounds like ekrn.exe did not start, do you see it running in your task manager processes ? says your not able to uninstall, are you able to just install it or repair it ? since something thinks it's not even installed ? sound like something got corrupted or something malicious changed it's settings and knocked it out.it's very easy to recover from all these types of errors, just use common sense and creativity and go look for things and delete them.also try the installer cleanup utility from microsoft and then try to repair or reinstall.

4. historicmountain

Thanks for the quick replies!