Nod32 license expires on the 18th; former NOD users, what did you go to and why?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by veri, Aug 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. veri

veri Registered Member

I've searched on just about everything here and have been using / recommending this forum for months. I'm just after some personal opinion on this.

For those of you that formerly used Nod32 (either trial or for a year or two) and switched to something else, what did you go to and why?

I ask because my year-long license for Nod32 expires on August 18th. I am currently an undergrad student (semester starts the following week), so I can certainly get the $20/$30 one-year/two-year discount for Nod32. Save for not liking the UI very much, I have never had a problem with this AV besides a false positive in a mIRC script that was eventually fixed.

I suspect that I will be waiting for the AV-comparative results on September 1st before purchasing anything, but I'm interested in what former NOD32ers have to say.

Just about anything is a choice, really - SAV, KAV, F-Sec, Nod32, BD, whatever. If any other products have a student discount that I am not aware of, please let me know. :)

(Currently using BD8 free for second opinions, Kerio 4, Win Defender, Spybot, and playing with Ewido and SAS)

2. sukarof

sukarof Registered Member

I´ve been using NOD32 for 3 years. It has worked well. But lately it started grinding my harddrive continuously and I had no clue of why. I was about to reinstall it when I realized I had just a couple of months left of my subscription. I just wanted to try out something new so I tried a couple of AV´s bitdefender and Drweb. Bitdefender was very good, but had some issues with Firstdefence on my machine. Drweb has about the same impact on the resources as NOD32 so I ended up buying Drweb after their 20 day trial.