Nod32+Comodo+Proxomitron+SpywareBlaster+AVG antispyware+SafeXP+Media Player=Infection

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by Cactus.Ed, Oct 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cactus.Ed

Cactus.Ed Registered Member

First a little background on my system. I have been using Symantec for 5 years since licenses are only $5 from my employer. Never really liked it, but it worked and I’ve never had any spy/malware or viruses (confirmed by multiple online scans). ~3 weeks ago I changed to Nod32, Comodo and Proxomitron - Seemed to work well. Then on recommendations (from other users of this forum) in a post I made Sunday, I also installed the trial of Ewido Anti-Spyware (Now AVG), SpywareBlaster and SafeXP on Monday evening.

Summary:
    Nod32 AV– Blackspear’s setup, auto-update (I just bought a 2 year license)
    Comodo Firewall – Auto-Update, very conservative custom ruleset.
    Proxomitron – Set to block ads and most scripts.
    AVG anti-spyware 7.5 – All shield elements on
    SpywareBlaster – updated and set to the recommended
    SafeXP – used the recommend setup
    WinXP Pro SP2 – New install, all updated just installed the week prior.
    All this behind NAT+SPI hardware firewall

Yesterday (Tuesday) afternoon I was browsing the internet when I got an e-mail from a friend. It had a link to one of those funny movie sites (user submitted videos-I can’t recall which one at the moment)… Anyways, Windows Media player 10 opens the WMV file and the whole computer slows down to a stop, SH*T! I pull up TCPMon and there must have been 30 active connections of mplayer and another 30 of proxomitron – all the connections for each program pointing to different outside IP’s. I quickly drop all of the connections and assess the damage.

Sure enough, XP event viewer lists:
    -Max number of network connections reached.
    -Some random service, edfghchpdq.exe, as starting, now running and stopping.