NIS 2012 and WSA-E Beta

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Heco, Dec 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hello all! :)

    If i understood correctly, WSA-E (beta or not) is based on the integrated Windows Firewall.. But NIS deactivates the latter during its installation. So what's the use of keeping WSA FW ON? Isn't useless? Sorry if i'm wrong.:(
    Thanks for your replies.

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    WSA doesn't only use the Windows firewall - it provides an additional layer on top of it (although I suppose that terminology is the source of the confusion :)). It has its own firewall engine which works to control outbound and monitor inbound connections, but it uses the Windows firewall for inbound blocking (as it does a very good job at it).

    Hope that helps!
     
  3. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    501
    I think I know what Heco was trying to explain and correct me if I'm wrong Heco:

    When installing Norton Internet Security, Norton automatically turns off Windows Firewall and uses Norton's firewall with inbound / outbound protection. I don't believe you can turn windows firewall on with Norton installed. So WSA-E will not be working with Windows Firewall, it will be working with Norton's firewall. How well does WSA-E work with Norton's firewall, the same as windows? or would it be better to turn off WSA-E firewall while using NIS. Sounds confusing but I think you know what I mean. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    11,210
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  5. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    501
    Sounds good to me, Thanks Triple Helix. :)
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    11,210
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Anytime it's just an extra layer of protection! ;) At home I`m even behind a Firewall Router :D but on the road with my laptop you need all the protection you can get! LOL

    TH
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    And to clarify it here as well - you can use WSA's firewall with NIS' firewall without a problem, with or without the Windows firewall being enabled :)
     
  8. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Sorry for the delay to reply. I'm not very often in front of my home computer!
    @ProTruckDriver: Thank you for putting into better words what i wished to express:). Your post clarifies my post.
    @Joe and TH: Thanks for your reassuring replies.

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.