NIS 2005 subscription about to expire need advice please

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by tamba1, Apr 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tamba1

tamba1 Registered Member

Hi

I have been running Norton products for many years...

For the last year I have been using NIS 2005 and it has done a good job in protecting my PC although admittedly it does seem to slow things down quite a bit. Like many of you I have read lots of reviews slating Norton and on various other AV/Firewall products in the hope of being able to decide what product/s I choose next. My NIS is die to expire in a week or so's time and i need to make a decision but am confused as when I think I have decided I read a particulary bad review and do more research and get more negative reviews..

Norton Antivirus 2006 gets pretty terrible feedback/reviews but the worst seem to be for the Norton Personal Firewall 2006, though as with all reviews there are some positive ones too.

As I said I have been protecting my PC with Norton: Antipam, Antivirus and Firewall.

I am contemplating the following Zonelabs Zonealarm products: ZA PRO,ZA Internet Security Suite or ZA Firewall ..... Unfortunatley I have been slightly put off by articles saying it is not recommended for Firewall non experts, and users intervention can cause problems if you dont know enough aout what you are doing/

To be honest like many people I am after something I can set up and have the piece of mind my system is being protected wihout having its resource swallowed up by the AV, Firewall, Antispam etc

Re Spyware protection I am using Spysweeper, Spyware Doctor, and scan on a weekly basis with Adaware, EWIDo, Spybot and if particualry concerned will use online AV scanning tools like Kapersky, Bit defender, Trend Micro, Panda

Please can you give me some advice