Newbie would like a little help

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Old Monk, Apr 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Old Monk

Old Monk Registered Member

Hello all at Wilders

This is my first post in any forum of any description so excuse me if I'm a little unclear. Hope it's in the right forum.

Firstly, can I say congrats to all of you for the efforts, help and suggestions you make - quite remarkable ! I've been 'lurking' for some weeks and although I'm a novice I feel that I've learned a bit regarding security and will endeavour to learn more.

As a bit of background, during the last few weeks I have had the following running on my machine from suggestions made in these forums.

Spybot
    Ad-aware
    Ewido(on -demand free version)
    Spyware Blaster and Guard
    Bit Defender(on demand free version)
    Zone Alarm Security Suite (full paid version)
    Firefox browser

Have also trialled TDS-3 and Trojan Hunter

Other than the odd cookie, numerous scans have revealed no malware of any description so I feel reasonably sure that my system was clean.My surfing is limited and definitely not on the dark side.
    However, I have been unable to do any Windows Updates for over 2 months using IE and it seems to be a problem with my ZA settings. Getting nowhere with suggestions to resolve this, in a fit of frustration, I have recovered and reinstalled my OS (XP Home) and therefore think this may an opportunity to nail things down tight.

Cutting to the chase, these therefore are my questions some of which are no doubt a bit naive, but hey we've all got to learn and would be very grateful for any feedback/suggestions.

1/ Using the Recovery and System CD's that came with the machine, does this mean my hard drive has been reformatted and I am now 100 % guaranteed clean ?
    2/ Should I reinstall SP2 and do Windows Updates before reinstalling my security defences ?