Newbie - Trying PrivateFireWall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by EscapeVelocity, Apr 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EscapeVelocity

EscapeVelocity Registered Member

I have been limiting my posting to the Other Anti Malware sub forum, but I am now starting to understand some of the concepts better and where products fit into the different categories, as well as what they do.

I am looking to learn about security. Try many products out, and see which ones I like and suit me. Also I am trying to set up another computer, with very low user input, protection that runs mostly in the backround without pop ups, for another user. Which probably means a very simple limited firewall like Windows Firewall, no Hips or very simple light classical HIPS like Winpatrol. There is also a router firewall, so...

So I have multiple purposes.

Im really liking PrivateFireWall so far.

I know Im a newbie, but just sharing my impressions and journey, if any are interested. All advice and tips welcome.

Last edited: Apr 15, 2010
  2. Kerodo

Kerodo Registered Member

If you're gonna start installing and uninstalling a lot of security apps, especially firewalls, I'd strongly recommend that you make sure you have some good images of your system/setup before you begin. Things can and often do get hosed during the experimentation process of adding and removing programs. You'd be surprised. Otherwise, have fun. :)

3. EscapeVelocity

Thanks, Ive got a Macrium Reflect image or 2 to fall back on, basically a clean install of Windows XP, with most of programs that I like to use, installled.

4. whitedragon551

whitedragon551 Registered Member

Private FW is great. I like it alot. Its nice and light and Im pretty sure I read here that its based off of PC Tools FW. Its not nearly as buggy as PC Tools is though.

5. I also like PrivateFirewall well enough, though IMHO it has some issues...

- Too many popups in manual response mode.